Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs






UAA community

Chancellor Tom Case

Sept. 16, 2014

Updated Provost Search Committee announcement


Dear UAA community:

I’m pleased to announce that I have appointed the search committee for the position of Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs. The search committee includes faculty, staff, administration and student representation. The committee will be chaired by Dean Rashmi Prasad. The other committee members include:

  • Megan Olson, Vice Chancellor, University Advancement
  • William Spindle, Vice Chancellor, Administrative Services
  • Travis Rector, Professor, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Anthony Paris, Associate Professor, College of Engineering
  • Christine Lidren, College of Arts & Sciences, former APT Council President
  • Diane Hirshberg, Professor, ISER & CBPP, Faculty Senate President
  • Maria Williams, Alaska Native Studies Director
  • Marc V. Robinson, Assistant Professor, College of Education
  • Susan Kalina, Vice Provost, Undergraduate Academic Affairs
  • Talis Colberg, Director, Mat-Su College
  • Stacy Lucason, USUAA President
  • Marva Watson, Director, Campus Diversity & Compliance
  • Arlene Schmuland, UAA/APU Consortium Library
  • Timothy Doebler, Director/Associate Professor, Community and Technical College
  • Gabriel Garcia, Associate Professor, Health Sciences
  • Eric Pedersen, Associate Vice Chancellor for Enrollment Services
  • *Rashmi Prasad, College of Business and Public Policy, Chair

Consultant Tom Fitch of Academic Search will be on campus Tuesday and Wednesday, Sept. 16-17, to meet with various groups across campus. Please consider attending the General Open Forum today, Tuesday, Sept. 16, 4-5 pm in the Lew Haines Room (LIB 307).

I’m grateful to our committee chair and all who have agreed to serve in these vital roles as members of the search committee. I’m confident this team will do an exceptional job in bringing forward a group of highly qualified candidates for the larger UAA community to meet during the 2014-2015 academic year.