The purpose of the INNOVATE Awards is to inspire faculty research, entrepreneurship and creative activity that will lead to publication in a peer review journal or a creative event, external research funding or Intellectual Property. The INNOVATE Awards were created in 2011 by Dr. Helena Wisniewski, Vice Provost for Research and Graduate Studies, to stimulate new research and IP.  All winners names are on a  list of current and previous award winners.


Chancellor Tom Case, Provost Bear Baker and Vice Provost for Research Dr. Helena Wisniewski
with the 2014 INNOVATE Award winners.

INNOVATE Awards Accomplishments & Benefits

2014 INNOVATE Awards presented December 16, 2013

  • Dr. Nathaniel Hicks, Physics & Astronomy, "PCAGE: A New Plasma Confinement Technique"
  • Dr. Aaron Dotson, Civil Engineering, and Dr. Eric Dickenson, Southern Nevada Water Authority, "Coupling UV Advanced Oxidation and Ceramic Membranes to Treat Challenging Waters"
  • Dr. Jonathan Stecyk, Biological Sciences, and Dr. Khrystyne Duddleston, Biological Sciences, "Influence of Temperature and Prolonged Oxygen Deprivation on the Composition and Diversity of the Turtle Gut Microbiota in Normal Physiology and Disease"
  • Dr. Erin Hicks, Physics  & Astronomy, "A Step Toward Understanding the Role of Supermassive Black Holes in Galaxy Formation and Evolution"
  • Dr. Ganhua Lu, Mechanical Engineering, "Vertical Graphene-Nanoparticle Hybrids for High-Performance Supercapacitors"
  • Dr. Joshua Swift, Psychology, "Client and Therapist Moment-to-Moment Ratings of Significant Events in Psychology"
  • Dr. Sarah Gerken, Biological Sciences, "Diastylidae of New Zealand"
  • Dr. Lee Ann Munk, Geological Sceinces, and Dr. Berry Lyons, Ohio State University, "Assessing the Effects of Silicate Weathering on Atmospheric CO2 in the Aleutian Volcanic Arc"
  • Dr. John Kennish, Chemistry, "Determination of the rose fragrance, salidroside, rosavin and rosarin in the Arctic root Rhodiola rosea"
  • Dr. Kirk Scott, Computer Science & Engineering, "Android Apps for Computer Science Learning in Schools"
  • Dr. Jocelyn McGee, Dr. Rebecca Robinson and Dr. Gloria Eldridge, Psychology, and Dr. Thomas Nighswander, Alaska Native Medical Center, and Dr. Donald Thomas, "Malawi Resilience Project"
  • Dr. Ghulam Bham, Civil Engineering, and Co-PI Dr. Kenrick Mock, Computer Science and Engineering,"Development of a Fixed-Base Driving Simulator at UAA"
  • Two patent plaques were also presented at the 2014 event:

    Data Hiding Based Messages and Advertisements

  • Dr. Helena S. Wisniewski, Vice Provost of Research and Graduate Studies, Co-Inventor, U.S. Patent 8,555,052 B2 with colleagues from Stevens Institute of Technology
  • Process for Demineralization of Bone Matrix and Preservation of Natural Grown Factors

  • Dr. N. Jane Shelby, Director of WWAMI School of Medical Education, First Inventor, U.S. Patent 8,574,825 with colleagues from Montana State University and Murray, Utah


    2013 INNOVATE Awards   

    • Received an additional $200,000 in internal funding for the INNOVATE Awards.   
    • Increase in the diversity of areas and disciplines, including the sciences, engineering, economics, theatre and dance, English and construction management.
    • More awards are interdisciplinary.
    • Received proposals from all UAA colleges and schools.



    2012 INNOVATE Awards

    • Established by the Vice Provost for Research in December 2011 and she acquired $200,000 in internal funding.
    • Received 40 proposals.
    • Funded 13 proposals in areas including engineering, sciences and arts/humanities.

    Accomplishments of 2012

    • 11 proposals submitted for external funding, some still under review, with awards totaling over $350,000 in external funding to date.
    •  Six submissions to peer review journals in process. 
    •  Four invention disclosures and three evolved into patents pending.
    •  Nine presentations at international conferences.Accomplishments of 2012.